Skip to content ↓
Exmouth Community College

Exmouth Community CollegeAcademy Trust

What's On

May 2020

 

WE  ❤️ BOOKS!

Simply click on the link the link

http://www.nationalbooktokens.com/schools

 

Book of the Month

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.

April 2020

 

 

ECC is attempting to become the largest Carnegie Medal shadowing group ever, get involved and become a record breaker!

 

Carnegie Medal 2020 short list announced-how many will you read before the winner is announced?

 

To celebrate National Autism Day- 2nd April- take a look at 'Can You See Me' on the library Eclipse home page, our book of the month.

March 2020

 

Many thanks to students who bought some book and stationary bargains at the book fair, ECC will receive £100 worth of free books!

 

The Book Fair has arrived!

Use your World Book Day vouchers to receive  £1 off book purchases from The Book Fair in the library Thursday 12th-Tuesday 17th March. The more you buy the more free books we earn for our school. Brilliant book bargains to be had!

 

*Hidden Figures-ECC Library stats*

Since September:

Number or words read-  673,702,752

Quizzes taken- 16,715

Quizzes passed- 14,000

Books issued- 15,166

Absolutely incredible figures! Keep reading! 

 

British Science Week 6-15 March 2020

Fancy yourself as a scientist? We have plenty of books to give you inspiration! 

 

55 Yr7 & 8 students have received their word millionaire badges- Well done!

 

Coming Soon!

Scholastic Book Fair

 Thursday 12th-Tuesday 17th March. 

World Book Day 2020

ECC celebrates World Book Day in Style!

The library team relax with a good book before the celebrations get going.

Mr Urmston (aka Mad Hatter), amid cheers from the students,  won the competition for the English department teachers to dress as book characters. Mrs Messer cried 'off with his head' as she took 2nd place as the Queen of Hearts, and Gansta Granny (Mrs Burrows) grabbed the 3rd place rosette and made a run for it!

We had a very special visitor who was kindly brought in by Anne-Marie Coles of Guide Dogs South West. Lots of students made friends with the beautiful black Labrador who has been a guide dog for 7 years. She helped Willy Wonka ( Mr Waldron) choose some stories, which where enjoyed with a hot chocolate and cuddles with our new four legged friend! Many thanks to Anne-Marie for coming along today.

The Library held a giant cake and book sale in aid of Book Aid Africa during World Book Week. Many thanks to those who baked it, faked it and bought it, we raised a brilliant £112.50! Special thanks to our fabulous monitors who worked really hard during the busiest break time of the year!

February 2020

Visit your library...

#shelfhelp  #mentalhealth  #childrensmentalhealthweek

 

 #valentinesday #lovebooks

 

 

January 2020

 

Please make sure you return/renew any resources that are overdue. You can pop them in the book boxes outside/inside the library or return them to the desk, thank you!

December 2019

Merry Christmas from The Library!

Go Potty over Potter this Christmas in the library! Pop in and check out our Sorting Hat Christmas tree!

 Miss Vowden's year 10 boys enjoyed some festive reading time #bookbrothers

 

 

The library monitors were rewarded for all their hard work this term with a Christmas party, do you think they enjoyed themselves?

 

 

*Library Recycling Christmas Craft Club*

Come along and make decorations for the library and home from old books.

Every Wednesday lunchtime from now until Christmas.

November 2019

Well done to our 29 word millionaires this term, wear your badge with pride!

 

Don't forget to collect your prizes for AR. Mrs Lancaster is in the library Wednesday break and lunchtime to hand them out, please tell her your English set.

 

Visit your Library...

#AntiBullyingWeek #OddSocks #ChangeStartsWithUs

 

#remembrance #lestweforget #poppyappeal

October 2019

 

Spooky things are going on in the library, visit us if you dare!

 

The Library issued 2,378 books during October and there are currently 1346 books on loan-amazing! If you are reading a book from home check on arbookfind.co.uk to see if it has a quiz/ it's level/ how many points it is worth. Keep Reading!

 

The Library is often very busy, so to make sure we help you with any questions please fill out the student query forms and we will get back to you ASAP!

 

Visit your library...

#leadlearnerbookreviews

September 2019

The library are pleased to announce that the winner of this year Summer Book Bingo challenge for year 7 is Poppy Wilkinson, she has won an Amazon Fire tablet. Runners up received £5 book tokens. Many congratulations to all the winners!

July 2019

Points mean Prizes!

A huge congratulations to all our students who have collected their rewards for the Accelerated Reader Scheme this year. All that hard work paid off and winners have confirmed the pizza was DELICIOUS! Make sure you don't miss out next year, keep reading and quizzing! 😊🍕


Homework Club regulars Emily Brimble, Tiffany Halliwell and Molly Inston were rewarded today by Mr Thorn for having the most attendance this year.

 

The monitors celebrated another year of hard work in the library with ice cream and games. If you would like to become part of the team don't forget to sign up in September.

June 2019

 

 

The Library has been very pleased to host primary school liaison trips over the past few weeks.  

Yr 6 students were introduced to the library, played 'The Genre Game' and had time to explore the shelves. Primary schools fed back that that 'it was an excellent opportunity for children to see the library',  'an excellent session which alleviated stress and anxiety about transition', and the 'children were really inspired'.

Mrs Burrows and Mrs Goodair are looking forward to seeing all the students in September, in the meantime keep reading!

 

Thanks to all who donated/purchased at the Giant Book Sale, we will be sending £50 to Book Aid Africa 😊

 

Congratulations to the students from Withycombe, Marpool and Exeter Rd Primary schools who won 1st, 2nd and 3rd place respectively in this years heat of the Kid Lit Quiz held at ECC Library.

 

Visit Your Library...

#bathroomreadingmonth #funnyreads

April 2019

The CLIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Children's Book Award nominations have been announced for 2019. Come and pick up a copy of a CLIP Carnegie Medal shortlisted book in the library and judge for your self who the winner should be! April 2019

 

Visit your library...

March 2019

We are currently running The Book Fair in the Green Close Library. There are various books available, you can use your £1 World Book Day token for any book over £2.99

February 2019

Visit your library...

#valentines day #fallinlovewithagoodbook

#childrensmentalhealthweek #shelfhelp

 

#lgbtqhistory #lesson42

 

January 2019

Congratulations to 7LEV who completed the most AR quizzes during the Christmas Holidays, their prize was a delicious breakfast in the library.

 

Visit your library...

#harrypottercorner

 

#newyear #newdvd

December 2018

ECC has won £300 of free books!​​​​​