Skip to content ↓
Exmouth Community College

Exmouth Community CollegeAcademy Trust

Remote Learning

This page contains all the key information students and parents need to know how the school will support you if your child needs to access Remote Learning from January onwards.

Please see the bottom of the page to download our Remote Learning document for Parents

During the Autumn term we have made huge progress in our remote learning provision. Virtual lessons have already been delivered in all subjects to students who have had to isolate this term. We feel confident that students are able to continue their learning if and when they need to remain at home during the Spring term also.

Students have been shown how to use our remote learning platforms during their lessons and should be able to access all work during their normal timetable. If your child is unable to access use of a phone, tablet or computer which is able to connect to the Internet, please contact the college as we may be able to offer extra support.

For our return in January, we will only be expecting our Critical Worker and vulnerable students onsite from the 5th January 

Current arrangements:

Critical Worker and Vulnerable Students

  1. All students to be in school between 8.20 and 8:30 where they will be met and directed to their muster point on Gipsy Lane.  Please only use the main gate by the Telfer reception to enter the College.
  2. Please let us know via normal attendance lines if your child is not coming attending (unless you have notified us already).
  3. Students should be in uniform with face coverings. We have brought this additional measure in as an extra precaution to protect students and staff given the current increase in cases across the country. Also ensure if possible, they bring hand sanitiser.
  4. Students will be taught in year group classes in ICT suites where they will be supported by a few staff at a social distance.  Please also bring headphones that fit into a PC.
  5. For the 5th January, students will not be directly set work by their teachers as it is an INSET day, however this will commence from Wednesday 6th January.  Please let students know to bring with them any knowledge organisers they have (or know how to locate them within Teams or the College website) and any other work they may have already been set.
  6. Students will follow the usual timings of the College day as per last term except for the starts and ends of the day when they arrive at 8:30am and leave at 3pm.
  7. Please make sure that your child has a face covering.  They will be expected to wear these in classrooms as well as outside.
  8. Lunch will be provided as usual, with break times at collection points. Students are welcome to bring their own packed lunch if preferred. Students with a free school meal will be provided for as normal.
  9. With the current cold weather, please ensure your child wears a suitable warm coat to College.

All Year Groups:

All students' learning will now be remote up until February half term. All teaching will be done via Microsoft Teams. Please see the bottom of this page for guidance on Teams. Teachers will invite students to their lessons. Students will be greeted by their teacher. Lessons will be the usual timetable from the Autumn term.

Remote Learning Expectations

Microsoft Teams - accessed through RM Unify login here: RM Unify

  • Each class has its own section on Teams (known as a tile) this is where students go to join virtual lessons and to access their work/tasks.  where resources have been uploaded. Please look at the 'Files' section of each Tile to access work
  • We have also introduced Knowledge Organisers across all subjects and all years from Year7 through to Year 11 to support students in their studies, these can be found here Knowledge Organisers
  • Students must follow their normal timetabled lessons by logging onto Microsoft Teams and clicking on the relevant class tile.
  • Teachers will be delivering virtual lessons which may last for the whole lesson or direct students to complete work and return later in the lesson. 
  • Where it is not possible for a teacher to be visible, they will be present using the 'chat' to communicate with students. 
  • Work for the lesson will be be available from the files section on each teams tile.

Please see the attached guide below for help logging onto Microsoft Teams

ClassCharts

ClassCharts will continue to be used to log homework, behaviour and make announcements to whole classes/year groups

Email

All students have access to a their college email account through RM Unify. Students can look up members of staff and email them should they have any questions during remote learning.

Behaviour Expectations

We appreciate that for many students, this will be a whole new experience of learning. We ask that as parents and carers, you support us in our efforts to continue to deliver quality lessons with the same level of engagement and commitment to learning that we expect in college. 

  • Students would not enter a classroom without the teacher present. We therefore, as that students wait for their teacher to start the online lesson before they join themselves.
  • Students should keep their cameras and microphones switched off unless the teacher instructs them to use them. Students can use the hands up button if they wish to communicate with the teacher or other students. 
  • We ask that all students show the same level of respect for their teacher and classmates as is expected in college.
  • ClassCharts will be used to aware praise points as well as noting any unacceptable behaviour should this arise.

Staff who have already experienced delivering virtual lessons have commented that they have been fun and engaging, and have enjoyed getting to know their students better on a different learning platform.

Contacting Staff

If you need to contact a member of staff please use the Contact Us page of our website. Below is a list of Subject Leader's emails as well as Tutor emails should you wish to contact staff directly.

Extra Support

We know that this can be an incredibly stressful time for families. Please do contact us if there is anything we can do to help. We do not have all the answers right now but will do our best to fix problems and support our community as we know they do us.

Please see the attached documents below for help with access remote learning. 

Top tips for parents, carers and students

Establish routines and expectations: start times, breaks and lunch at school are at clear times. Maintaining this routine can help maintain a positive work ethic. Avoid spending the day in your pyjamas!

Identify a clear physical space in which to work: this will make it easier to focus on your learning, without other distractions. 

Talk about the plan for the day, and the lessons ahead: spending extended time working at home is unfamiliar territory. Talking about how things are going can help pre-empt any problems. 

Set times to be on and offline: There will be more screen time than normal whilst working at home. You may have to share devices with family members, and setting time limits in advance can help manage this successfully. Equally, spending time offline is important to maintain a sense of balance in the day. 

Remember to exercise: Your wellbeing is enhanced by physical activity, so do make time for this.. This can really help if you are feeling anxious, which is completely normal whilst you are working from home. 

Talk about things on your mind: it will be a big adjustment working from home every day, and having done it before does not necessarily make it easier. Talk about how things are going. The international and local situation is highly changeable. It is normal to feel uncertainty about this too. Be conscious of how much of the news you watch and talk about what you are watching. Do devote enough time for this.  

Read a book: Escape, relax, unwind. Look after yourself. Remember how much you enjoy reading your Accelerated Reader books – look out for library updates and new books coming online. 

E-Safety: Please discuss e-safety with your child/ren before they return to the remote Learning programme.  Lots of resources to help you do this can be found on our website under ‘Safeguarding’. 

 

Recovery curriculum

We remain committed to our Recovery Curriculum

What is Recovery Curriculum? 

Professor Barry Carpenter has developed the Recovery Curriculum, as a response to the losses described above.  It is a way for schools to help children come back into school life, acknowledging the experiences the children have had.  We want children to be happy, feel safe and able to be engaged in their learning.   We have decided that a way to achieve this for the children is to acknowledge the importance of helping them lever back into school life using the following 5 Levers.

  • Lever 1: Relationships – we can’t expect our students to return joyfully, and many of the relationships that were thriving, may need to be invested in and restored. We need to plan for this to happen, not assume that it will. Reach out to greet them, use the relationships we build to cushion the discomfort of returning.
  • Lever 2: Community – we must recognise that curriculum will have been based in the community for a long period of time. We need to listen to what has happened in this time, understand the needs of our community and engage them in the transitioning of learning back into school.
  • Lever 3: Transparent Curriculum – all of our students will feel like they have lost time in learning and we must show them how we are addressing these gaps, consulting and co-constructing with our students to heal this sense of loss.
  • Lever 4: Metacognition – in different environments, students will have been learning in different ways. It is vital that we make the skills for learning in a school environment explicit to our students to reskill and rebuild their confidence as learners.
  • Lever 5: Space – to be, to rediscover self, and to find their voice on learning in this issue. It is only natural that we all work at an incredible pace to make sure this group of learners are not disadvantaged against their peers, providing opportunity and exploration alongside the intensity of our expectations.

Barry Carpenter, CBE, Professor of Mental Health in Education, Oxford Brookes University explains why a Recovery Curriculum is necessary to successfully transition children back to school. Click here to read more.   https://www.evidenceforlearning.net/recoverycurriculum/

In order to return students to education and ensure they enjoy their time at school as well as achieve the best outcomes possible we have developed an overarching plan that addresses all of those levels suggested by Barry Carpenter.

 

Risk Assessment

The College is regularly updating its Risk Assessments for when students are in College or for remote learning.  If you would like further information please contact Mr Allen at the College.

 

Subject Specific Enquiries

 

Head of Department  

Mr Perry

jon.perry@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Art

Mr Simon

john.simon@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Business Studies

Miss Westcott-Wolstenholme

jenna.westcott-wolstenholme@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Careers / Enterprise

Mr Wright

nathan.wright@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Citizenship / PSHE

Mr Brown

martin.brown@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Computing / ICT

Mrs Phillips

amy.phillips@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Dance

Mr Turner

jez.turner@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Drama

Mrs Perry

emily-jane.perry@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

English

Mr Eynon

dan.eynon@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Geography

Mrs Rawles

anna.rawles@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Health and Social Care

Mrs Weller

caroline.weller@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

History

Miss Edwardson

lyn.edwardson@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Learning Support Unit

Mr Cadwallader

andrew.cadwallader@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Leisure and Tourism

Mr Glanville

mike.glanville@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Mathematics

Mr Stanier

thomas.stanier@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Media Studies

Mrs Gibbon

chloe.gibbon@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Modern Languages

Mr Stock

paul.stock@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Music

Mrs Lowe

lisa.lowe@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Religion

Mrs Hale

michelle.hale@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Science

Mrs Knight

nicola.knight@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Social Science

Mr Lowe

stuart.lowe@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Sports and Leisure

Mrs Brown

sarah.browne@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Technology

Mr Panton

John.Panton@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Work Related Learning
 

Pastoral Support

  • If there is a pastoral issue you would like us to know about, please email your child's tutor (scroll down the page to find email addresses) in the first instance, so we can update our records and be ready to support your child on their return.

Tutor Email Addresses

Tutor & Yr. Group Email Address
Table Heading

Year 7

7a1 7NH

7a2 7BB

7a3 7DSM

7a4 7RLB

7a5 7GCB

7b1 7SAS

7b2 7HD

7b3 7MD

7b4 7PC

7b5 7BA

7c1 7JK

7c2 7JTF

7c3 7FW

7c4 7EM

 

YEAR 8

8a1 8CHW

8a2 8LJ

8a3 8RRW

8a4 8KH

8a5 8CR

8b1 8BC

8b2 8MA

8b3 8ATP

8b4 8SW

8c1 8LD

8c2 8DJ

8c3 8JML

8c4 8MM

 

YEAR 9

9a1 9CHC

9a2 9JAW

9a3 9LL

9a4 9SB

9a5 9MM

9b1 9HJ

9b2 9AEK

9b3 9ACH

9b4 9MS

9c1 9MSP

9c2 9LEV

9c3 9CTR

9c4 9PS

 

YEAR 10

10p1 10MJM

10p2 10DBF

10p3 10MK

10p4 10CRM

10p5 10PSJ

10p6 10CT

10p7 10RL

10p8 10CLG

10p9 10JT

10p10 10MGW

10p11 10LJO

10p12 10AH

10p13 10CPH

 

YEAR 11

11P1 11GIM

11P2 11SME

11P3 11NMR

11P4 11KO

11P5 11APB/VC

11P6 11AMC

11P7 11CLC

11P8 11GR

11P9 11CB

11P10 11RJT

11P11 11LMH

11P12 11GC

11P13 11SRB

 

 

 

Nikki.Holland@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Bethany.Brooks@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Dominic.Mustin@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Rachel.Burman@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Gary.Bowen@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Sarah.Souter@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Hannah.dupain@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Moran.dipode@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Paul.collins@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Ben.arthur@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Steve.Kemp@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Julie.franklin@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Frances.wroe@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Elaine.Messer@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

 

 

Caroline.Weller@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Louisa.Jubb@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Rachel.Willcocks@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Kirsty.Hall@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Clare.Rackham@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Ben.Cross@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Michael.allan@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Annette.Pearson@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Sarah.Williams@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Laurie.Dugdale@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Daniel.Johnson@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Jane.Lucas@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Marie.maddocks@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

 

 

christina.merry@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Jo.Watson@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Lisa.Lowe@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Sarah.Browne@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Mark.Moran@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Hayley.Jenkins@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Anastasia.Kyriacou@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Amanda.C-Hough@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Marianne.Skinner@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Mark.Phare@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Lydia.Vowden@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

C.Raybould-Gooding@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Paul.Stock@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

 

 

Martin.Miller@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Dean.Farleigh@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Matthew.Knott@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Chris.Mooney@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Paul.Jeffery@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Colin.Tindal@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Richard.Lucas@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Chloe.Gibbon@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Jez.Turner@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Michael.Wilkinson@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Luke.Oxley@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Alison.Hamblin@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Claire.hannah@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

 

 

Gillian.Mills@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Sandra.Eloff@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Neil.Rigler@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Kevin.O'shea@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Andrew.bown@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Alex.Coull@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Christine.Clifton@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Gemma.Rowan@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Clare.Bethel@exmouthcollegeCurriculum.devon.sch.uk

Richard.Thompson@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Lara.Howard@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Grace.Charalambous@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Samantha.Bowden@exmouthcollege.devon.sch.uk

Examinations

The latest information from the government is here (we'll update this page and email etc when extra information is announced): https://www.gov.uk/government/news/further-details-on-exams-and-grades-announced